Ask Amma

Granola

In Recipes on 21 July 2013 at 8:00 pm

I have been referring to granola so often that I realized I ought to post a recipe.  I have been making this granola since I was eight years old.  Here is the original recipe that I had taped to the wall in our kitchen in Beech Grove.

Ingredients:

3 cups rolled oats
various nuts and seeds, 1/4 cup each
3/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup honey or molasses or maple syrup
1/4 cup oil
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup raisins, chopped dates or other dried fruit.

Yummy in my tummy!  Granola with yogurt.

Yummy in my tummy! Granola with yogurt.

Instructions:

Mix oats, nuts, seeds and wheat germ.

In a pot, heat oil, honey and vanilla and stir well.  Pour over the mixed dry ingredients and mix throughly.  Spread onto large baking pans.

Bake at 300 degrees for 20-30 minutes stirring every 10 minutes to prevent burning.  When done granola will be golden brown and make a crisp sound when you stir it.

Allow to cool and mix in the raisins, dates or other dried fruit.   Store in an airtight jar or sealed container.

Eat with chopped fresh fruit and/or yougurt or milk.  Can also eat with applesauce or all by itself.

* * *

Notes: Generally I used almonds, peanuts and sunflower seeds.  If we had cashews or walnuts I threw those in too.  Sometimes even sesame seeds.

I usually tripled the recipe, sometimes more.  So I started with 9-18 cups of oats.  It keeps well for a few weeks.

Over the years, I have modified the recipe.

  • My mom told me that I could make it chunky by adding some whole wheat flour and water at the end and just scooping up fistfuls and chunkifying them.
  • If you make and eat it the same day you can skip the oil and not miss it.
  • Throughout my childhood I loved the step of heating the oil and honey, mostly because I loved to watch it bubble.  Later I realized however that this step could easily be skipped.
  • The vanilla is optional, as is almost everything – except the oats!

In fact, I recently jotted down the recipe to send someone, and this is how it goes:

12 cups rolled oats.
3 cups wheat germ
1-2 cups sunflower and/or pumpkin seeds
1-2 cups of chopped almonds, cashews, walnuts, and/or pecans
1-2 cups raisins and/or chopped dates.  If your store sells date pieces like these, then you don’t have to chop!
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup honey or molasses or maple syrup
optional:  1/2 tsp vanilla
optional:  wheat bran or oat bran
For chunky texture, you will need a cup or so of flour and some water to work in after mixing up all the rest of the ingredients.
In keeping with the crunchy nature of granola making, the photos below come from my most recent batch, which I started with 18 cups of oats.
  1. […] morning the 4-year-old member of the family woke up asking for granola.  It was the weekend.  As her mother passed her the ingredients she mixed it up, gave it to her […]

    Like

  2. […] – cooked with some vegetables or topped with fruit and nut.   Or just toasted and made into granola!   Check out this visual menu and bring some variety to the breakfast […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

