Ask Amma

Beyond the Sling

In Books on 11 April 2012 at 4:33 pm

Amma has taken a peek at Mayim Bialik’s new book, Beyond the Sling.  So far, looking at what Bialik has to say on such matters as stuff, illness, and Pippi Longstocking, what comes to mind is, she took the words right out of my mouth.  No wonder, as I find that the author is the spokeswoman for the holistic mom’s network.   Let me quote a gem:

Hurting children know what feels good, and guess what?  It’s you.  When they are nauseated, throwing up, feverish, and achy, rocking feels good.  Holding feels good.  Medications that induce sleep give parents a break, but they do not necessarily meet a baby’s immediate need for you to heal her with your touch and your attention and love.
… I have found that the hours I have spent walking my sick babies around has been time that I could truly tap in to what they needed even more than in their healthy hours; they spoke a different language when they were sick, and it was incumbent upon me to learn this language.

(pg 137)

Mayim Bialik, Beyond the Sling

Mayim Bialik, Beyond the Sling

It is a pleasure to read and I urge you all to get your local library to stock it so that browsing parents come across it.  No more tiptoeing around unspoken insinuations like, gentle discipline only works for you because ___________.  She shares insights from her own experience with simple living and green practices with her family.  Unlike dear Dr. Sears or Alfie Kohn, she is a mom!  She has given birth at home, done ec with her kids, and, as of writing the book, is nursing her 3 year-old.  More when I finish the book, but I couldn’t wait to share my excitement!

  1. Thanks so much for recommending The Beyond the sling book. I just finished reading it and loved it as an awesome resource – especially for tips on gentle discipline and co-sleeping! Definitely a book I would add to my recommend list for new moms along with the baby book!

    Like

  2. I can get a used book from somewhere- now really curious to read this

    Like

  3. […] as well. Read about the experience of Miriam Bialik as well as her initially skeptical husband in Beyond the Sling. My story of diaper-free is here: India Together: Decommissioning the diaper. Like this:LikeBe the […]

    Like

  4. […] Bialik has written beautifully about sharing sleep with her family in Beyond the Sling. Dr. Sears has also addressed recent concerns on co-sleeping. Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Like

  5. […] find a number of books on Diaper Free hygiene and there is a chapter on it in Mayim Bialik’s Beyond the Sling as well.  You should try to have your local library stock these books so that more parents might […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

