Ask Amma

right time to introduce books?

In When on 18 February 2011 at 4:00 am

When should I start introducing books to my baby? Is it already too late? Will it harm her if I introduce them too early or too late?
– a mom of a 4-month old in Mumbai

Children of those who love books are already introduced to them – the changing rhythms of mom’s body while she is reading would have become familiar from the first months of life and even before. Being among readers is a sure path to love of reading. I used to read while nursing. When I ran out of lullabies, I even read aloud from EPW. There came a point when she would take the book from my hands. She wanted to know what I was doing that was so interesting. That may have motivated me to get books for her. I read them not because I thought that "it was time for books" but simply to share my love of books.

Leave a Reply

